Skip Navigation Links
Background Image

Directory of LRP Ambassadors

The LRP Ambassador Directory is organized by state. Within each state, Ambassadors are listed first by institution and then in alphabetical order. You will find contact information for each Ambassador, along with information about their LRP award and research interests. If you don't see an Ambassador in your area, please contact lrpambassador@od.nih.gov to find out if there is an Ambassador who meets your needs.

Contact Us

List of LRP Ambassadors

Alabama

Tuskegee University

Name Contact LRP History
Clayton Yates, Ph.D. Email: cyates@mytu.tuskegee.edu LRP: Health Disparities Research (2007-2012)
Research Interest: African Americans with prostate and breast cancer

UAB

Name Contact LRP History
Hope Amm, Ph.D. Email: hopeamm@uab.edu LRP: Clinical Research
Research Interest: Tumor biology

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Name Contact LRP History
Susan Birket, PharmD, Ph.D. Email: susanbirket@uabmc.edu LRP: Pediatric Research (2015)
Research Interest: Pulmonary infections in cystic fibrosis and other muco-obstructive diseases
Kyounga Cheon, DMD Email: kcheon@uab.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2013-2015, 2015-2016)
Research Interest: To develop a novel therapeutic NO releasing nanomatrix gel allowing root canal disinfection and pulp-dentin
Ellen Eaton, M.D. Email: eeaton@uab.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2015)
Research Interest: Pulmonary infections in cystic fibrosis and other muco-obstructive diseases
Sonya Heath, M.D. Email: slheath@uabmc.edu LRP: Clinical Research
Research Interest: Acute HIV and T cell function
Suzanne Judde, Ph.D., M.P.H. Email: sejudd@uab.edu LRP: Health Disparities Research (2011-2013 2016-2018)
Research Interest: Racial differences in stroke risk

Arkansas

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Name Contact LRP History
Sarah Rhoads, Ph.D., DNP Email: srhoads@uams.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2014-2016)
Research Interest: Technology use to improve maternal/neonatal outcomes

Arizona

Mayo Clinic

Name Contact LRP History
Alison Roos, Ph.D. Email: Roos.Alison@mayo.edu LRP: Pediatric Research (2015-2017)

University of Arizona

Name Contact LRP History
Zelieann R Craig, Ph.D. Email: zr.craig@arizona.edu LRP: Contraception and Infertility (2012-2014)
Research Interest: Environmental influences on fertility

California

California Polytechnic State University

Name Contact LRP History
Todd Hagobian, Ph.D. Email: thagobia@calpoly.edu LRP: Clinical Research
Research Interest: Pregnancy and endocrine disruptors

California State University San Marcos

Name Contact LRP History
Sara Bufferd, Ph.D. Email: SBufferd@csusm.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2014-2016)
Research Interest: Developmental psychopathology
Madeline Lee, Ph.D., M.S.S.W. Email: mlee@csusm.edu LRP: Pediatric Research (2011-2013)
Research Interest: Child welfare, mental health, quality of care

Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Name Contact LRP History
Christopher V. Almario M.D., MSHPM Email: christopher.almario@gmail.com LRP: Clinical Research
Research Interest: Digestive diseases, health services research, digital health

Children's Hospital Los Angeles

Name Contact LRP History
Jon Detterich M.D. Email: jdetterich@chla.usc.edu LRP: Pediatric Research (2015-2017)
Research Interest: Cardiovascular

Los Angeles Biomedical Research Institute@ Harbor-UCLA Medical Center

Name Contact LRP History
Moin Vera M.D., Ph.D. Email: mvera@labiomed.org LRP: Pediatric Research (2014-2016)
Research Interest: Biochemical genetics, lysosomal storage diseases

Palo Alto University

Name Contact LRP History
Sita G. Patel Ph.D. Email: spatel@paloaltou.edu LRP: Health Disparities Research (2009-2013)
Research Interest: Immigration and global mental health

RTI International

Name Contact LRP History
Jennifer Lorvick Dr.,P.H. Email: jlorvick@rti.org LRP: Health Disparities Research (2012-2016)
Research Interest: Impact of criminal justice system involvement on health disparities

San Diego State University

Name Contact LRP History
Alyson Abel Mills Ph.D., M.S. Email: alyson.abel@mail.sdsu.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2014-Present)
Research Interest: Using neurophysiological methods to examine language impairment in children
Sonja Pruitt-Lord Ph.D. Email: spruitt@mail.sdsu.edu LRP: Pediatric Research (2008-2011)
Research Interest: Child language disorders

San Francisco Department of Public Health

Name Contact LRP History
Erin Wilson Dr., P.H. Email: erincwilson@gmail.com LRP: Health Disparities Research (2009-2012)
Research Interest: HIV, transgender health

Stanford University

Name Contact LRP History
Katherine Martucci Ph.D. Email: kmartucc@stanford.edu LRP: Clinical Research
Research Interest: Chronic pain
Courtney Wusthoff M.D. Email: wusthoff@stanford.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2013-2017)
Research Interest: Pediatric neurology

Takeda Pharmaceuticals

Name Contact LRP History
Jesscia Grieves D.V.M., Ph.D. Email: jlgdvm@gmail.com LRP: Pediatric Research (2009-2011,2011-2013)
Research Interest: Vaccine development for RSV

University of California, Davis

Name Contact LRP History
Lauren Libero Ph.D. Email: lelibero@ucdavis.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2015-2017)
Research Interest: Neuroscience

University of California, Irvine

Name Contact LRP History
Alon Gorodetsky Ph.D. Email: alon.gorodetsky@uci.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2009-2014)
Research Interest: Bioelectronics

University of California, Los Angeles

Name Contact LRP History
Olujimi Ajijola M.D., Ph.D Email: oajijola@mednet.ucla.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2015-2017)
Research Interest: Cardiac electrophysiology, cardiac autonomic control
Vivian Y Chang M.D. Email: vchang@mednet.ucla.edu LRP: Pediatric Research
Jason Hinman M.D., Ph.D. Email: jhinman@mednet.ucla.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2012-2016)
Research Interest: Stroke
Maureen McMahon M.D., MS Email: mmcmahon@mednet.ucla.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2004-2012)
Research Interest: Biomarkers of atherosclerosis in systemic lupus erythematosus
Anne Walling M.D., Ph.D. Email: awalling@mednet.ucla.edu LRP: Clinical Research
Research Interest: Palliative care
Elizabeth Zuniga-Sanchez Ph.D Email: ezsanchez@mednet.ucla.edu LRP: Clinical Research
Research Interest: Neurodevelopment
Kyle Zanocco M.D. Email: kzanocco@mednet.ucla.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2011-2013)
Research Interest: Surgical outcomes

University of California, San Diego

Name Contact LRP History
Kayla Chase Ph.D. Email: kachase@ucsd.edu LRP: Clinical Research
Rebecca Fielding-Miller Ph.D., MSPH Email: rfieldingmiller@ucsd.edu LRP: Health Disparities Research (2016)
Research Interest: Structural determinants of HIV and gender based violence
Eduarado Fricovsky Pharm.D. Email: esfricovsky@ucsd.edu LRP: Health Disparities Research 2006
Maile Young Karris M.D Email: m1young@ucsd.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2007-2010)
Research Interest: HIV clinical and translational research

University of California, San Francisco

Name Contact LRP History
Naomi Bardach M.D., M.A.S. Email: naomi.bardach@ucsf.edu LRP: Pediatric Research (2010-2012, 2014-2016)
Research Interest: Quality measurement, high value care and payment reform, pt centered care
Mi-Suk Kang Dufour M.P.H., Ph.D. Email: Mi-Suk.KangDufour@ucsf.edu LRP: Health Disparities Research
Research Interest: Implementation research in HIV and malaria prevention and treatment
Jeffrey Lee M.D., M.A.S. Email: jeff.lee@ucsf.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2013, 2014)
Research Interest: Cancer prevention
Aras N. Mattis M.D., Ph.D. Email: aras.mattis@ucsf.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2010-2011)
Research Interest: Metabolic liver disease
Theodore Nicolaides M.D. Email: theodore.nicolaides@ucsf.edu LRP: Pediatric Research (2007-2011)
Adam Numis M.D. Email: adam.numis@ucsf.edu LRP: Pediatric Research (2015-2017)
Research Interest: Child neurology
Melissa Burroughs Pena M.D. Email: melissa.burroughspena@ucsf.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2013-Present)
Research Interest: Cardiology, echocardiography, global health
John Sauceda Ph.D. Email: ohn.sauceda@ucsf.edu LRP: Health Disparities Research (2014-2016)
Research Interest: Latino mental health and HIV treatment adherence
Elliot Stieglitz M.D. Email: estieglitz@gmail.com LRP: Pediatric Research (2016, 2017)
Research Interest: Pediatric leukemia

University of Southern California

Name Contact LRP History
Christina Dieli-Conwright Ph.D., M.P.H. Email: cdieli@usc.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2013-2015)
Research Interest: Exercise oncology and metabolic dysregulation
Beth A. Smith D.P.T., Ph.D. Email: beth.smith@usc.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2010, 2012)
Research Interest: Neuromotor control and early intervention
Cleopatra M. Abdou Ph.D. Email: cabdou@usc.edu LRP: Health Disparities Research (2009-2014)
Research Interest: Lifespan & intergenerational health disparities & flourishing; maternal-child-family health

Colorado

Colorado State University

Name Contact LRP History
Christopher L. Gentile Ph.D. Email: christopher.gentile@colostate.edu LRP: Clinical Research
Research Interest: Cardiovascular physiology; obesity
Rachel Lucas-Thompson Ph.D. Email: lucas-thompson.rachel.graham@colostate.edu LRP: Pediatric Research (2011-2013)
Research Interest: Family relationships, stress physiology, mental health
Brendan Podell D.V.M., Ph.D. Email: bpodell@colostate.edu LRP: Health Disparities Research (2015, 2016, 2017)
Research Interest: Infectious disease, immunology, and endocrinology

University of Colorado

Name Contact LRP History
Brian Stauffer M.D. Email: brian.stauffer@ucdenver.edu LRP: Clinical Research
Research Interest: Cardiovascular disease

University of Colorado, Boulder

Name Contact LRP History
Monique LeBourgeois Ph.D. Email: monique.lebourgeois@colorado.edu LRP: Pediatric Research
Research Interest: Sleep & circadian rhythm development in early childhood; health & developmental consequences of poor sleep

University of Colorado. Anschutz Meical Campus

Name Contact LRP History
Eric Moody Ph.D. Email: eric.moody@ucdenver.edu LRP: Pediatric Research (2000-2014)
Research Interest: Autism, health disparities

University of Colorado, Children's Hospital Colorado

Name Contact LRP History
James Feinstein M.D., M.P.H. Email: james.feinstein@ucdenver.edu LRP: Pediatric Research
Research Interest: Special healthcare needs, medication safety
Katja Gist D.O. Email: katja.gist@ucdenver.edu LRP: Pediatric Research (2012-2014, 2015-2017)
Research Interest: Kidney injury

University of Colorado, Denver

Name Contact LRP History
Aaron Michels M.D. Email: aaron.michels@ucdenver.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2009-2011, 2012-2014)
Research Interest: Immunology of Type 1 diabetes
Joel Stoddard M.D. Email: joel.stoddard@ucdenver.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2008-10; 2011-14)
Research Interest: Application of affective neuroscience to pediatric psychopathology

University of Connecticut Health Center

Name Contact LRP History
Kevin Manning Ph.D. Email: manning@uchc.edu LRP: Clinical Research 2015

University of Denver

Name Contact LRP History
Jennifer Bellamy Ph.D., M.S.S.W. Email: jennifer.bellamy@du.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2007-2012)
Research Interest: Child maltreatment prevention

Connecticut

University of Connecticut

Name Contact LRP History
Christopher Carroll, M.D., M.S. Email: ccarrol@connecticutchildrens.org LRP: Pediatric Research (2006)

University of Connecticut Health Center

Name Contact LRP History
Kevin Manning Ph.D. Email: manning@uchc.edu LRP: Clinical Research 2015
Carla Rash Ph.D. Email: Rashc@uchc.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2008-2010, 2013-2014)
Research Interest: Addiction treatment

University of Connecticut, School of Medicine

Name Contact LRP History
Kristyn Zajac Ph.D. Email: zajac@uchc.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2011-13, 2014-15, 2016-17)
Research Interest: Addictions

University of Hartford

Name Contact LRP History
Adam Goodworth Ph.D. Email: goodworth@hartford.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2013-2015)
Research Interest: Prevention of healthcare-associated infection, antimicrobial stewarship

Yale University

Name Contact LRP History
Chyrell D Bellamy Ph.D. Email: chyrell.bellamy@yale.edu LRP: Health Disparities Research
Research Interest: Mental illness and co-occuring susbtance use and recovery
Adam Mecca M.D., Ph.D. Email: adam.mecca@yale.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2015-2016)
Research Interest: Alzheimer's Disease, aging, cognitive disorders

Yale University School of Medicine

Name Contact LRP History
Tariq Ahmad M.D., M.P.H. Email: tariq.ahmad@yale.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2012-2016)
Research Interest: Biomarkers in heart failure
Andrew Branagan M.D. Email: andrew.branagan@yale.edu LRP: Clinical Research
Research Interest: Hematologic malignancies
Carolyn Sartor Ph.D. Email: carolyn.sartor@yale.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2005-2012)
Research Interest: Substance abuse & trauma

DC

Children's National Health System

Name Contact LRP History
Madison Berl Ph.D. Email: mberl@childrensnational.org LRP: Pediatric Research
Research Interest: Pediatric neuropsychology and neuroimaging

Howard University, School of Medicine

Name Contact LRP History
Joanne Allard Ph.D. Email: joanne.allard@howard.edu LRP: Health Disparities Research (2012-2014)
Research Interest: Neuroprotective mechanisms of physical exercise and insulin regulating agents

Truth Initiative

Name Contact LRP History
Mary Jennifer Cantrell Dr.P.H. Email: jcantrell@truthinitiative.org LRP: Health Disparities Research
Research Interest: Tobacco-related health disparities

U.S. Dept of Agriculture

Name Contact LRP History
Delivette Castor Ph.D.,M.P.H. Email: delivette@gmail.com LRP: Clinical/Disadvantaged (2008-2010)
Research Interest: HIV / AIDS epidemiology and implementation science

Delaware

Value Institute at Christiana Care Health System

Name Contact LRP History
Kristen Miller, Dr.P.H. Email: krmiller@christianacare.org LRP: Clinical Research (2016)
Research Interest: Healthcare human factors engineering

Georgia

Emory University

Name Contact LRP History
Rohan Palmer, Ph.D. Email: rohan.palmer@emory.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2011, 2013, 2015)
Research Interest: Genetics of substance addiction
Randy Trumbower, Ph.D. Email: randy.trumbower@emory.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2008-2016)
Research Interest: Rehabilitation Medicine

Illinois

University of Illinois, Chicago

Name Contact LRP History
Marc Cook, M.S., Ph.D. Email: marcdcook813@gmail.com LRP: Health Disparities Research (2015)
Research Interest: Exercise and immune function

Louisiana

Pennington Biomedical Research Center

Name Contact LRP History
Robert Newton, Jr., Ph.D. Email: robert.newton@pbrc.edu LRP: Health Disparities Research (2003)
Research Interest: Physical activity interventions to reduce health disparities in African Americans

Maryland

Johns Hopkins University

Name Contact LRP History
Deanna Saylor, M.D., M.H.S. Email: deanna@jhmi.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2014)
Research Interest: Drug dependence and HIV epidemiology

Michigan

Michigan State University

Name Contact LRP History
Anne K. Hughes, Ph.D., M.S.W. Email: hughesa@msu.edu LRP: Clinical Research (2014-2016)
Research Interest: Older adults with chronic illness, psychosocial impacts

University of Michigan

Name Contact LRP History
Jamie Mitchell, Ph.D. Email: mitchj@umich.edu LRP: Health Disparities Research (2016)
Research Interest: Cancer and chronic disease communication disparities affecting African American men

New Jersey

Rowan University

Name Contact LRP History
Sean McBride, M.D., Ph.D. Email: smjmcbride@gmail.com LRP: Pediatric Research (2015)
Research Interest: Identifying novel pharmacologic therapies for monogenic disorders associated with intellectual disability and autism spectrum disorders

New York

Columbia University Mailman School of Public

Name Contact LRP History
Morgan Philbin, Ph.D., M.H.S. Email: mp3243@columbia.edu LRP: Health Disparities Research (2014-2017)
Research Interest: Social structural factors and HIV/Substance use risk for sexual minority youth

Ohio

Ohio State University

Name Contact LRP History
Thomas L. Cherpes, D.V.M., M.D. Email: cherpes.1@osu.edu LRP: Clinical and Health Disparities Research (2005, 2007)
Research Interest: Immunology

Pennsylvania

University of Pennsylvania

Name Contact LRP History
Sean McBride, M.D., Ph.D. Email: smjmcbride@gmail.com LRP: Pediatric Research (2015)
Research Interest: Identifying novel pharmacologic therapies for monogenic disorders associated with intellectual disability and autism spectrum disorders

University of Pittsburgh

Name Contact LRP History
Christian A. Fernandez, Ph.D. Email: chf63@pitt.edu LRP: Pediatric Research (2012; 2014)
Research Interest: Pharmaogenetics of adverse drug reactions
Lisa Pan, M.D., FAPA Email: thomasla@upmc.edu LRP: Pediatric Research (2003)

 

Tennessee

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Name Contact LRP History
Lauren B. Beach, J.D./Ph.D. Email: Lauren.B.Beach@vanderbilt.edu LRP: Health Disparities Research (2016)
Research Interest: Using an intersectional framework to conduct health disparities research and to promote health equity for Sexual and Gender Minority (SGM) populations

Washington

University of Washington

Name Contact LRP History
Cecilia Lee, M.D. Email: jung.cecilia@gmail.com LRP: Pediatric Research (2015)

 

Back to Top